Live At The Hollywood Bowl

The Beatles
Hollywood Bowl - 2016 CD cover Hollywood Bowl - 2016 CD back
Live At The Hollywood Bowl - 2016 CD Front Cover Live At The Hollywood Bowl - 2016 CD Back Cover

Label Apple
Catalogue No. 570 5497 (Full barcode: 6-02557-05497-2)
Release date 9th September 2016
Total time 43:36
U.K. Album Chart Detail :
Entry Date :16th September 2016
Highest Position :3 ... for 1 week from 16th September 2016
Weeks in Chart :6 .... so far
Detail : In 1977 EMI released the original Beatles at the Hollywood Bowl album.
           (follow that link to read details of that issue)

This new 2016 version actually has the same named tracks in the same order, plus four bonus tracks.
But, using new studio techniques not even dreamt of back in 1977, this version is completely remixed and cleaned-up to sound absolutely amazing. A powerhouse of a production.
(One of the bonus tracks on the album is "Baby's in Black" from the "Real Love" single CD, which was previously unavailable on an album or digital download)

As before, this disc captures the joyous exuberance of the band’s three sold-out concerts at Los Angeles’ Hollywood Bowl in 1964 and 1965.
A companion to The Beatles: Eight Days A Week - The Touring Years, Director Ron Howard’s authorized documentary feature film about the band’s early career, The Beatles: Live At The Hollywood Bowl was released worldwide on CD and for digital download on 9th September 2016, followed by a 180-gram gatefold vinyl LP on 18th November.

Documenting The Beatles’ Hollywood Bowl concerts on tape was no easy feat, as producer Sir George Martin explained in his album notes for 1977’s The Beatles At The Hollywood Bowl:
"The chaos, I might almost say panic, that reigned at these concerts was unbelievable unless you were there. Only three track recording was possible; The Beatles had no ‘fold back’ speakers, so they could not hear what they were singing, and the eternal shriek from 17,000 healthy, young lungs made even a jet plane inaudible."

While The Beatles: Live At The Hollywood Bowl references the long out of print 1977 album, it is an entirely new release, directly sourced from the original three track tapes of the concerts. To preserve the excitement of the shows while unveiling the performances in today’s best available clarity and quality producer Giles Martin and engineer Sam Okell have expertly remixed and mastered the recordings at Abbey Road Studios, including the thirteen tracks from the original album produced by Giles’ father, plus four additional, previously unreleased recordings from the momentous concerts.

"A few years ago Capitol Studios called saying they’d discovered some Hollywood Bowl three track tapes in their archive," says Giles Martin.
"We transferred them and noticed an improvement over the tapes we’ve kept in the London archive. Alongside this I’d been working for some time with a team headed by technical engineer James Clarke on demix technology, the ability to remove and separate sounds from a single track. With Sam Okell, I started work on remixing the Hollywood Bowl tapes. Technology has moved on since my father worked on the material all those years ago. Now there’s improved clarity, and so the immediacy and visceral excitement can be heard like never before. My father’s words still ring true, but what we hear now is the raw energy of four lads playing together to a crowd that loved them. This is the closest you can get to being at the Hollywood Bowl at the height of Beatlemania. We hope you enjoy the show…"

The album includes a 24-page booklet with an essay by noted music journalist David Fricke, and its cover art features a sunny photo taken on 22nd August 1964 by The Beatles then U.S. tour manager, Bob Bonis, as John, Paul, George and Ringo boarded a chartered flight from Seattle Tacoma Airport to Vancouver, BC for their first concert in Canada.

16th September 2016 - This album entered the album charts at number 3 (the original in 1977 hit the top spot).
23rd September 2016 - Second week in the chart and dropped just one place to number 4.
30th September 2016 - Third week in the chart and plummeted down 15 places to number 19.
7th October 2016 - Fourth week in the chart and down fourteen places to number 33.
14th October 2016 - Fifth week in the chart and down another twenty-four places to number 57.
21st October 2016 - Sixth week in the chart and out the Top75 down to number 78.
                  (Chart Progression: 3-4-19-33-57-78)

The C.D.

No. Track Composer Recording Information Time
1 Twist And Shout Russell-Medley 30th August 1965 1:20
2 She's A Woman Lennon-McCartney 30th August 1965 2:45
3 Dizzy Miss Lizzy Williams 30th/29th August 1965 - one edit 3:01
4 Ticket To Ride Lennon-McCartney 29th August 1965 2:19
5 Can't Buy Me Love Lennon-McCartney 30th August 1965 2:07
6 Things We Said Today Lennon-McCartney 23rd August 1964 2:07
7 Roll Over Beethoven Berry 23rd August 1964 2:10
8 Boys Dixon-Farrell 23rd August 1964 1:56
9 A Hard Day's Night Lennon-McCartney 30th August 1965 2:30
10 Help ! Lennon-McCartney 29th August 1965 2:16
11 All My Loving Lennon-McCartney 23rd August 1964 1:55
12 She Loves You Lennon-McCartney 23rd August 1964 2:10
13 Long Tall Sally Johnson-Penniman-Blackwell 23rd August 1964 1:53
Bonus Tracks
14 You Can't Do That Lennon-McCartney 23rd August 1964 2:24
15 I Want To Hold Your Hand Lennon-McCartney 23rd August 1964 2:13
16 Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby Perkins 30th August 1965 2:17
17 Baby's In Black Lennon-McCartney 30th August 1965 2:14


Beatles Albums In Date Sequence

©2016 JPGR Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.