Photograph: The Very Best Of Ringo

Ringo Starr

Photograph - CD Cover Photograph - CD Back
Photograph (Very best of) - Front Cover Photograph (Very best of) - Back Cover

Label Capitol
Catalogue No. 504 9332
Release date 27th August 2007
Total time C.D.  - 68:06
DVD - 21:05
U.K. Chart Detail :
Entry Date :2nd September 2007
Highest Position :26
Weeks in Chart :3
Comments : Ringo's 4th greatest hits or collections package and 26th official U.K. album overall.

Executive Producer: Ringo Starr.
Compilation produced by Mike Ragogna and Rob Christie.
Mastered by Steve Rooke at Abbey Road.

This career-spanning compilation album co-incided with the re-issue and promotion of Ringo's first four solo albums in digital format.
When it debuted at number 26 this was Ringo's highest chart placement since 1974 when Goodnight Vienna reached no.30

The set comes with an excellent 16-page booklet containing some great shots, a song-by-song commentary by Ringo which includes full personnel on every recording, and a dedication by Quincy Jones.
The song-by-song booklet notes were compiled from an interview with David Wild, contributing editor of Rolling Stone magazine.
Art Direction: Tom Recchion
Design: Paul Moore
Photography: Capitol Photo Archives and Gene Trindl/Shooting Star Archival Material: Matt Hurwitz
The standard CD is released in a jewelcase, while the Collector's Enhanced Edition is presented in a 2-disc jewelcase with cardboard sleeve.
The enhanced set has the catalogue number 504 9332, the DVD has 504 9339 and the C.D. has 393 8272.

02/09/2007 - On the first week of release the album entered the U.K. chart at number 26.
09/09/2007 - For the second week in the chart Photograph dropped thirty places to no. 56
16/09/2007 - Although still registering in the album chart at number 99, this is outside what is officially counted (the top 75).
So unfortunately, this album had just a two week chart run.

"The drum is life. It is the sound of life within you.
When the world ends, the drumbeat will sound just once for you like it sounded for me.
It will sound bad or good.
It will ask you if you have been bad or good; And you can answer only one way".

                                                                                    Smohalla, Wanapum prophet

Also see Ringo's Own Site

Disc 1 - The C.D.

No Track Composer and Credits Time
1 Photograph 1973 - From the album Ringo 3:57
2 It Don't Come Easy 1971 - Hit single - see It Don't Come Easy 3:00
3 You're Sixteen 1973 - From the album Ringo 2:49
4 Back Off Boogaloo 1972 - Hit single - see Back Off Boogaloo 3:19
5 I'm The Greatest 1973 - From the album Ringo 3:25
6 Oh My My 1973 - From the album Ringo 4:14
7 Only You (And You Alone) 1974 - From the album Goodnight Vienna 3:23
8 Beaucoups Of Blues 1970 - From the album Beaucoups Of Blues 2:33
9 Early 1970 1971 - B-side of the single It Don't Come Easy 2:18
10 Snookeroo 1974 - From the album Goodnight Vienna 3:23
11 No No Song 1974 - From the album Goodnight Vienna 2:31
12 Goodnight Vienna 1974 - From the album Goodnight Vienna 3:01
13 Hey Baby 1976 - From the album Rotogravure 3:10
14 A Dose Of Rock 'N' Roll 1976 - From the album Rotogravure 3:23
15 Weight Of The World 1992 - From the album Time Takes Time 3:54
16 King Of Broken Hearts 1998 - From the album Vertical Man 4:43
17 Never Without You 2003 - From the album Ringo Rama 5:22
18 Act Naturally 1989 (with Buck Owens and from his 1989 album) 2:59
19 Wrack My Brain 1981 - From the album Stop And Smell The Roses 2:21
20 Fading In And Fading Out 2005 - From the album Choose Love 3:58

Disc 2 - The D.V.D.

The DVD top menu screen has a 30 second loop with "Photograph" playing.
The DVD track selection menu is also a 30 second loop, this time with "It Don't Come Easy" overdubbed.

No Track Composer and Credits Time
1 Sentimental Journey 1970 promotional film - Directed by Neil Aspinall 3:16
2 It Don't Come Easy 1971 promotional film - Directed by Ringo Starr 2:46
3 Back Off Boogaloo 1972 promotional film - Directed by Ringo Starr 3:16
4 You're Sixteen 1973 promotional film - Directed by Jack Margolis 1:59
5 Only You (And You Alone) 1974 promotional film - Directed by Stanley Dorfman 3:11
6 Act Naturally 1989 music video - Directed by George Bloom 4:25
7 Goodnight Vienna Advertisement
Voice Over by Ringo Starr And John Lennon
Directed by Stanley Dorfman 1:00

Ringo's L.P. Releases

©2007 JPGR's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.