A Tribute To John Lennon

Various Artists

A Tribute To John Lennon Uncut Magazine
A Tribute To John Lennon - Front Cover Uncut Magazine - November 2002
The Beatles Contribution:  John Lennon - Inspiration.
Label Uncut
Catalogue No. UNCUT 2002 11
Release Date October 2002
U.K. Album Chart Detail : Does not qualify for chart inclusion.
Detail : "Instant Karma 2002" is the given title of this essential tribute album to John Lennon.
Featuring rare and exclusive tracks, this C.D. was given away FREE with the November 2002 edition of Uncut Magazine.

The tracks on the whole are not copies of John's performances (some are), but are performed in the style of the artiste performing here. Stand-out tracks are Marianne Faithfull's "Working Class Hero", and Chrissie Hynde's beautiful rendition on The Pretenders version of "Bless You". There are many other fine interpretations of John's works, and I don't think any of the tracks are a stain on his memory ... search this album out, buy the magazine, it is worth it.

Uncut magazine is a fine mixture of Cinema and Music, and is a darn good read anyway.

The C.D.

No Track Artist Information Time
1 John Lennon Hammell On Trial 2002 - From The album Ed's Not Dead 3:39
2 Instant Karma Paul Weller 2002 - Exclusive to this compilation. 4:11
3 Jealous Guy Ian McCulloch 2002 - Recorded exclusively for this compilation. 4:15
4 Everybody's Got Something To Hide
Except For Me And My Monkey
Kristin Hersh 1999 - Taken from the three-song single "Echo". 2:48
5 Working Class Hero Marianne Faithfull 1979 - From the great album "Broken English". 4:42
6 The Ballad Of John And Yoko Teenage Fanclub 1990 - From the album "Deep Fried Fanclub - Early Singles and Rarities" 3:02
7 Bless You The Pretenders 2002 - Recorded exclusively for this compilation. 4:19
8 Happiness Is A Warm Gun The Breeders 1990 - From the album "Pod". 2:42
9 Come Together Ike and Tina Turner 1969 (remastered in 1994) - From the album "18 Classic Tracks". 3:40
10 Love Robert Wyatt 2002 - Recorded exclusively for this compilation. 2:24
11 Gimme Some Truth Generation X 1977 - From the three C.D. set "Generation X - Anthology" 2:22
12 Isolation Mercury Rev 1999 - From the single "Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp" 4:06
13 Cold Turkey Icicle Works 1985 - From the 12" single "When It All Comes Down". 4:20
14 Give Peace A Chance Toots And The Maytals 1970 - From a variety of reggae albums. 2:54
15 Gimme Some Truth Ash 1995 - From the three-song single "Angel Interceptor" 5:12
16 Happy Xmas (War Is Over) John Holt 1974 - From "The Reggae Christmas Hits Album" 4:08
17 I Am The Walrus Spooky Tooth 1970 - From the album "That Was Only Yesterday" (originally from "The Last Puff"). 6:23
18 In My Life Roddy Frame 2002 - Recorded exclusively for this compilation. 2:20

©2002 Graham Calkin's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.