McCartney II (Paul McCartney Archive Collection)

Paul McCartney
McCartney II - Archive Collection
McCartney II - The Archive Collection
Label Hearmusic (Concord)
Catalogue No. HRM 32800   (Barcode: 8 88072 32800 6)
Release date 13th June 2011
Total time 3 hours 1 minute and 13 seconds
U.K. Album Chart Detail : Did NOT Chart
Detail : Originally in 1980 Paul's 12th solo album release - this version was part of the Paul McCartney Archive Collection
For detail of the original 1980 album see here: McCartney II

The June 2011 archive re-issue was released in multiple formats:
Standard edition 1-CD - the original 11-track album.
Special edition 2-CD - the original 11-track album on disc one, just eight bonus tracks on a second disc.
Deluxe Edition 3-CD/1-DVD; the original 11-track album, two bonus tracks disc, a DVD with unseen footage, and a 128-page hardcover book.
Remastered vinyl 2-LP version containing the contents of the special edition and a download link to the material.

Disc One - The Original Album


Track Composer Recording Information Time
Coming Up McCartney Paul's vocal is distorted using vari-speed on this, the cream of the album. 3:52
Temporary Secretary McCartney A song (quite clearly) in the form of a letter to the Alfred Marks employment bureau,
who after hearing it, asked permission to use the song in a radio advert.
Oddly, they were turned down.
On The Way McCartney Paul recorded the backing track for this, then left it for one week. During that week he was influenced by a BBC programme about Alexis Korner, and transformed the track into a more "bluesy" number.
And what a great sound on this simple, but effective track.
Waterfalls McCartney Originally entitled, "I Need Love".
Paul's house in Kent is called "Waterfalls", and this song was actually written long in advance of recording. The finished article ? ... An immense ballad.
Nobody Knows McCartney This song was also influenced by the BBC programme about Alexis Korner, but starts like it's a one man band like Don Partridge ! ... a very happy-sounding knockabout. 2:51
Front Parlour McCartney An odd instrumental, named because it was recorded in the same room in Paul's farmhouse. 3:30
Summer's Day Song McCartney Nice words, nice melody, with an almost hymnal feel about it. 3:24
Frozen Jap McCartney Is this Aneka ? ... very similar sounding.
But seriously, a pretty mundane instrumental.
Bogey Music McCartney As described on the inner sleeve, this track is inspired by the Raymond Briggs book Fungus The Bogeyman
An early 50's heavily reverberated feel, that sounds like a one-take job.
Darkroom McCartney This was ad-libbed as it went along (and sounds it), but allegedly was NOT inspired by Linda's photographic interests. 2:18
One Of These Days McCartney A very pleasant ballad .... but ... The ONLY track I can think of by Paul, where the title appears in better form elsewhere.
Checkout Pink Floyd`s "One Of These Days" !

Disc Two - Bonus Tracks 1


No. Track Recording Information Time
1 Blue Sway Previously unreleased 4:33
2 Coming Up Live from the Apollo Theatre, Glasgow 17th December 1979 4:08
3 Check My Machine Single b-side of Waterfalls 5:50
4 Bogey Wobble Previously unreleased 2:59
5 Secret Friend Full length version 10:30
6 Mr. H Atom/You Know I'll Get You Baby Previously unreleased 5:55
7 Wonderful Christmastime Single version 3:47
8 All You Horse Riders/Blue Sway Previously unreleased 10:11

Disc Three - Bonus Tracks 2


No. Track Recording Information Time
1 Coming Up Full length version 5:34
2 Front Parlour Full length version 5:15
3 Frozen Jap Full length version 5:43
4 Darkroom Full length version 3:45
5 Check My Machine Full length version 8:58
6 Wonderful Christmastime Full length version 4:15
7 Summer's Day Song Original without vocals 3:25
8 Waterfalls D.J. Edit 3:20

Disc Four - DVD


No. Track Recording Information Time
1 Meet Paul McCartney   25:03
2 Coming Up Music video 3:56
3 Waterfalls Music Video 3:48
4 Wonderful Christmastime Music video 3:47
5 Coming Up Live at the Concert for the People of Kampuchea, 1979 4:10
6 Coming Up From a rehearsal session at Lower Gate Farm, 1979 4:18
7 Making The "Coming Up" Music Video Feature 4:03
8 Blue Sway Music Video 4:31

For all Paul's albums in date order: McCartney LP Discography

©2020 JPGR's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.