All Things Must Pass

George Harrison
All Things Must Pass - CD cover All Things Must Pass - CD1 cover All Things Must Pass - CD2 cover
All Things Must Pass - Booklet cover All Things Must Pass - Booklet picture
All Things Must Pass - Front Cover Top - CD 1 Cover Top - CD 2 Cover
  Bottom - Booklet Cover Bottom - Booklet picture
The original sleeve is now in colour, and each of the CD and booklet sleeves are
clearly George commenting on the advance of pollution, and maybe
the loss of countryside around his home, as you can see above.
Also you can see a more recent picture of George from within the booklet.
Label GN Records
Catalogue No. 530 4741 (3 L.P. box set)
530 4742 (Double C.D. box set)
Country of origin England
Release date 22nd January 2001
Total time C.D. 1 - 60:03
C.D. 2 - 66:18
Liner Notes : It's been thirty years since All Things Must Pass was recorded.
I still like the songs on the album and believe they can continue to outlive the style in which they were recorded. It was difficult to resist re-mixing every track.

All these years later I would like to liberate some of the songs from the big production that seemed appropriate at the time ....
For the full liner notes buy the C.D. ! ... or see The All Things Must Pass OFFICIAL website.

Comments : A great album, remixed in fine style in a nice little box, on two C.D.'s with a 20 page glossy booklet, containing some great pictures new and old, some comments from George and the lyrics.
Not the first time on C.D., as it was first issued on C.D. on 18th May 1987 (CDS 7 46688 2), but this time it is fully re-mixed, remastered and has "bonus tracks".

Originally released on 30th November 1970 as a triple L.P. on Apple at a price of 4:19s:6d which was double the normal L.P. price, it reached number 4. And full detail can be seen on it's own webpage at All Things Must Pass.
This new C.D. sells for around the 19 mark.

"All Things Must Pass" was produced by George Harrison and Phil Spector, engineered by Ken Scott and Phil McDonald, and featured orchestral arrangements by John Barham.
As well as singing all lead vocals, George multi-tracked his own voice to create all the backing vocals, comicly naming the resultant "choir" on the album as "The George O'Hara-Smith Singers".

The album was a monumental work for George that attracted some legendary players to the sessions that officially began on May 26th 1970. Beatles drummer Ringo Starr was George's only former bandmate to attend, along with Apple artist Billy Preston on organ, long-time Beatles collaborator Klaus Voorman on bass, Apple group Badfinger, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton and an uncredited appearance by a teenaged Phil Collins.

Although Clapton's work went uncredited on U.K. editions of the boxed set for contractual reasons, his name did appear on the U.S. version and is rightfully restored worldwide on this anniversary edition. The other point of interest with Eric is that "All Things Must Pass" has the recording debut of "Derek and the Dominoes", as all the group appear together (Clapton, Whitlock, Radle and Gordon).

Collins, who would unofficially join the band Genesis in September 1970, allegedly plays congas on "The Art Of Dying" according to Harrison's recollections thirty years later. Among the other musicians on-board were Dave Mason on guitar, Pete Drake, whose pedal steel guitar was the lynchpin of Bob Dylan's "John Wesley Harding" album of 1967, tenor saxophonist Bobby Keys, trumpeter Jim Price, drummer Alan White and keyboardists Gary Brooker and Gary Wright.

"All Things Must Pass" is also unique for the all-star "Apple Jam" that occupied both sides of the third LP in the boxed set. Consisting of five tracks that were recorded during the course of the album sessions, they were sequenced to accommodate the time-lengths of the vinyl sides. Once again, aficionados will appreciate that Harrison has restored them to their true sequence, so that the 11-minute "Out Of the Blue" - featuring Harrison, Clapton, his "Dominos," plus Keys, Price, Wright, and visiting New York rock journalist Al Aronowitz - is now the fifth and closing track instead of the first.

"All Things Must Pass" has sold more than three million copies worldwide.

C.D. 1

No Tracklisting Comments Time
1 I'd Have You Anytime Based on a lyric Bob Dylan gave to George to set to music at his home in Woodstock in November 1968 02:57
2 My Sweet Lord George's first solo single, and the first number 1 by a solo ex-Fab.
See My Sweet Lord for full detail.
3 Wah-Wah Written in January 1969, during the "Let It Be" filming when George had walked out 05:35
4 Isn't It A Pity George likened this to "Hey Jude", and it is only a few seconds shorter. 07:08
5 What Is Life Actually written for Billy Preston whilst on his way to Olympic Studios, London where George was producing his album "Encouraging Words". But Billy never recorded the song.
George's second solo single in the States, but not released here.
See What Is Life for full detail of George's release.
Later a third big hit for Olivia Newton-John, March 1972.
6 If Not For You Dylan's song from his "New Morning" album.
A debut big hit in the U.K. for Olivia Newton-John, March 1971.
7 Behind That Locked Door   03:05
8 Let It Down   04:57
9 Run Of The Mill An essay on karma 02:51
Additional Tracks
10 I Live For You An out-take from the sessions that was not used 03:56
11 Beware Of Darkness an alternate version of the song 03:20
12 Let It Down Described as "the original guitar and vocal from the same tape as 'Beware of Darkness' with a little overdubbing circa 2000" 03:55
13 What Is Life A rough mix of the backing track whose existence George had forgotten. 04:22
14 My Sweet Lord (2000) An updated version which Harrison produced "to create something extra for the anniversary issue" 04:58

C.D. 2

No Tracklisting Comments Time
1 Beware Of Darkness "Beware Of Darkness" warns against maya, the material world's wonderwall of illusion. 03:48
2 Apple Scruffs George's tribute to those fanatical Beatlemaniacs who literally lived on the steps of Apple's London headquarters. 03:04
3 Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp
(Let It Roll)
An olde English ballad dedicated to the architect and lawyer who built George's castle in Henley. 03:46
4 Awaiting On You All In this song George seems to agree with his friends in the Krishna movement that the best way to avoid distraction is by "chanting the names of the Lord" 02:45
5 All Things Must Pass "All Things Must Pass" advises a resigned attitude toward external events and was originally written in 1968, and recorded by The Beatles during the "Let It Be" sessions. 03:44
6 I Dig Love   04:54
7 Art Of Dying A comment on reincarnation, this was actually written way back in 1966, but George never considered it for The Beatles as the theme was too "way-out". 03:37
8 Isn't It A Pity (Version 2)   04:45
9 Hear Me Lord   05:48
Original Jam :
10 It's Johnny's Birthday Recorded by George and Ringo in August 1970, this was "presented" to John on his 30th Birthday on October 9th 1970.
It incorporates a snatch of "Congratulations"
11 Plug Me In Features three electric guitars played by George, Eric and Dave Mason ! 03:18
12 I Remember Jeep "Jeep" was a dog owned by Eric Clapton, which had been stolen. 08:05
13 Thanks For The Pepperoni George and Dave Mason with "Derek and the Dominoes". 05:32
14 Out Of The Blue George and Dave Mason with "Derek and the Dominoes" and many others. 11:13

©2001 Graham Calkin's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.